Return to Headlines

Jenkins Creek and Martin Sortun Receive 2012 School of Distinction Award

Jenkins Creek and Martin Sortun elementary schools have been recognized with the 2012 School of Distinction Award for outstanding improvement in student achievement over the last five years.

The award is bestowed to the top 5 percent of schools in Washington State who have made sustained improvement in reading and math over five years.

In the Puget Sound ESD region, 45 schools in 21 school districts achieved this high standard. The award is granted by The Center for Educational Effectiveness (CEE), in partnership with the Association of Educational Service Districts (AESD), the Association of Washington School Principals (AWSP), Phi Delta Kappa-Washington Chapter (PDK-WA), Washington Association of School Administrators (WASA), Washington State ASCD and Washington State School Directors’ Association (WSSDA).

 “The success and hard work of these highest improving schools in our district needs to be celebrated,” said Dr. Edward Lee Vargas. “This is a testament to the staff, students, leaders, and communities serving these students.”

The 2012 Schools of Distinction awards ceremony will be held Thursday, Jan. 24 at 4:30 p.m. at the Puget Sound Educational Service District in Renton.