Return to Headlines

School Board Awards Scholar Awards

Students receive scholarship awards during May 22 board meeting. Funded by the Harry L. and Ruby T. Soames Educational Trust, the Kent School District School Board presents School Board Scholar Awards to graduating students who have demonstrated academic accomplishments, school involvement, and a written essay demonstrating how a college education will benefit them and their community.  

This year’s first place recipients were each awarded an $1,800 scholarship:

  • Erin Davis, iGrad
  • Danielle Kim, Kent Mountain View Academy
  • Luis Lopez, Kent-Meridian High School
  • Harneet Mahal, Kentwood High School
  • Madison Marko, Kentlake High School
  • Nathaniel Sy Su, Kentridge High School
  • Jennifer Zirko, Kent Phoenix Academy

This year’s second place recipients were each awarded a $900 scholarship:

  • Austin Freeman, Kentridge High School
  • Tyler Hopp, Kentlake High School
  • Djamila Oumarou, Kent-Meridian High School
  • Haleluya Wondwosen, Kentwood High School

Congratulations students!