Meet Our Board

Kent School District's Board of Directors have designated geographic areas, but are elected by all voters in the District and represent the District as a whole. Each board member serves a four-year term.
If you would like to email the Kent School District Board of Directors, please click here.


Maya Vengadasalam


P: 206-465-5270 | Email
Elected: Elected 2013
Term Expires: November 2017
A Kent resident since 1991, Maya brings a wealth of insight and experience to the Board through her work as an organizational consultant and her extensive community involvement, including serving on the Seattle Foundation Small Grants Fund Advisory, Kent Chamber of Commerce Education Committee, and Kent Mayor's Advisory Team. Maya and her husband became involved in our school district when their son, who is pursuing a law career, began kindergarten at Kent Elementary in 1996. Maya has served on numerous district committees and was recognized for her work by the Washington Association of School Administrators (WASA) and with a PTA Golden Acorn Award.

Debbie Straus

Vice President

P: 206-713-9719 | Email
Elected: Elected 2007, 2011
Term Expires: November 2019
Debbie has been on the board since November 2007. Debbie and her husband have lived in Kent since 1986 and have five children; four are Kent School District graduates. Debbie has over 17 years of PTA service including serving in leadership positions at the local school, council, and regional levels, as well as on the PTA State Board of Directors. She served on many district committees over the years including two years on the Citizens Budget Review Committee, six years on the Career & Technical Education Advisory Committee, and ten years on the Family & Consumer Science Advisory Committee. Debbie works full time as a Global Tech Service Project Leader at Flow International Corporation in Kent.

Karen DeBruler


P: 425-277-6648 | Email
Elected: 2011
Term Expires: November 2019
After her two sons graduated from Auburn High School and headed to the University of Washington, Karen moved north to Fairwood, where she has resided since 2000. She has served on the Kent School Board since March, 2010, when she was appointed to fill a vacancy; she was elected in November, 2011. Before she retired from teaching in 2013, her thirty-three year career spanned four districts, seven elementary schools, and five grade levels. During that time, Karen served on many school and district committees. Other past board and organizational work includes participating in the King County Diversion Program for eleven years, as a committee member and as the co-chair for the Auburn Committee, recruiting, training, and overseeing the volunteers. She served as the South King County representative on the KCDP Advisory Board for three years. She also served on the Mountaineers Sailing Committee as co-chair for three years, planning, organizing, and implementing training sessions for up to 60 people. She was active as a PTA member, classroom volunteer, and band parent for both her sons. Besides being a school director, she enjoys volunteer work and caring for her active grandchildren.

Agda Burchard

Legislative Representative

P: 206-713-7118 | Email
Elected: Appointed 2012, Elected 2013
Term Expires: November 2017
Agda and her husband Tom have lived in Kent for 20 years. Agda became active in the Kent School District when their daughter, now a graduate of the Kent School District, entered kindergarten in 2002. Agda has served on district committees including Strategic Planning and Family and Consumer Science/Culinary Arts. She was a member of the school levies committee in 2010, and was president and legislative chair for the Kent Area Council PTA. She has also been a Girl Scout leader for 10 years. The former executive director of the Washington Association for the Education of Young Children, Agda now works for the Office of Child Care, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Ross Hardy Swearing In - Video coming soon

Ross Hardy


P: 253-852-4452 | Email
Elected: Appointed October 2017
Term Expires: November 2019