Elementary Battle of the Books

  • About the Program

    The "Battle of the Books" is a reading incentive program in elementary, middle school, and high schools across the country. Students are introduced to selected books by librarians and teachers and then begin to read. In Kent, books chosen to read are from the current year's Sasquatch Award-nominated book lists, ensuring students are reading quality literature.

    Students in grades 4-6 comprise the elementary teams, as the reading level of books ranges from third grade through eighth. Teams are created within individual classrooms so that students can meet, touch base, and discuss the books other team members have read. Teams are encouraged to read as many of the selected books as possible. The teams then answer questions, competing to see which team best recalls information from the books.

    At participating schools, grade level teams compete in a preliminary competition against other teams from the same grade level. A winning team represents their grade level at the school's final round of questioning. Winning school teams vie for the title of District Champion in an end-of-year tournament

    Last year, winning teams from KSD elementary schools met to determine the elementary level "literary victors" at the KSD "Battle of the Books" finals. Congratulations to all the participants and to the winning team from Sunrise. This year, elementary schools in the Kent School District are once again taking part in this reading competition and will send a team to the finals! Kent's Middle Schools hosted their own competitions and will do so again this year.

    2018-2019 School Book List

    Download a bookmark (with AR and IRLA levels) to print and use!

    • Fuzzy - Angelberger & Dellinger
    • Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth - Boyce
    • It Ain't So Awful Falafel - Dumas
    • The Skeleton Tree - Lawrence
    • A Night Divided - Nielsen
    • Wish - O'Connor
    • Ghost - Reynolds
    • The Tapper Twins Go to War - Rodkey
    • The Evil Wizard Smallbone - Sherman
    • Save Me a Seat - Weeks & Varadarajan
    • Wolf Hollow - Wolk
    • The Midnight War of Mateo Martinez - Yardi

Past Winners

  • 2018 Elementary Battle of the Books Winners

    2018: Sunrise (of 26 schools)

    2017: Ridgewood (of 28 schools)

    2016: Covington (of 29 schools)

    2015: Grass Lake (of 28 schools)

    2014: Horizon (of 24 schools)

    2013: Ridgewood (of 24 schools)

    2012: Grass Lake (of 24 schools)

    2011: Grass Lake (of 20 schools)

    2010: Glenridge (of 27 schools)

    2009: Soos Creek (of 28 schools)

    2008: Ridgewood (of 28 schools)

    2007: Lake Youngs (of 28 schools)

    2006: Emerald Park (of 28 schools)

    2005: Sawyer Woods (of 25 schools)

    2004: Emerald Park (of 19 schools)

    2003: Meridian (of 10 schools)

    2002: Grass Lake (of 3 schools)

Contact Us

Last Modified on December 28, 2018